Thread poster: Suyash Suprabh
Suyash Suprabh
Suyash Suprabh  Identity Verified
India
Local time: 05:02
English to Hindi
+ ...
Aug 22, 2023

Since the introduction of Nida's dynamic equivalence, which theories have proved to be most useful for freelance translators?

Samuel Murray
Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 01:32
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
@Suyash Aug 22, 2023

Suyash Suprabh wrote:
Since the introduction of Nida's dynamic equivalence, which theories have proved to be most useful for freelance translators?

I don't know about "useful" -- your lecturer would have his own opinion about which theory is useful.

Modern-day translation students have access to a wealth of information sources that I did not have access to 25 years ago when I studied translation. These include Chat GPT, but also the existence of shadow libraries.

Here's what the bot says in answer to your request:

translation theories

and I can confirm that e.g. Brown's book contains a lot of useful additional information about several of these. Also note how the opinion of Chat GPT may differ from that of other authors.

The bot says that polysystem theory was developed by Even-Zohar, but Keith Brown says in his encyclopedia of language and linguistics that Even-Zohar was but one of several linguists who were influenced by polysystem theory, so you have to decide who to believe. Chat GPT sometimes drops names of people who are associated with something as if they were the founders or originators of that thing.