How do I translate an .xml file using an .xsd file?
Thread poster: Peter Adolph
Peter Adolph
Peter Adolph
Local time: 10:09
Member (2006)
English to Danish
+ ...
Dec 21, 2010

Help!

How do I translate an XML file with either SDL Trados Studio or TWB using the client's .xsd file?

I'm new to all aspects of translation of software strings and need help.

The .xml file contains a source and a target language, and the source now needs to be translated into a second target language (by one of my vendors). I've managed to create an .ini file in TagEditor using the .xsd file, but still all text that should be translated appears inside t
... See more
Help!

How do I translate an XML file with either SDL Trados Studio or TWB using the client's .xsd file?

I'm new to all aspects of translation of software strings and need help.

The .xml file contains a source and a target language, and the source now needs to be translated into a second target language (by one of my vendors). I've managed to create an .ini file in TagEditor using the .xsd file, but still all text that should be translated appears inside the tags in TE ...

It's probably not very complicated, just me being ignorant (but hopefully not much longer ...).

Has anyone got a clue?

TIA
peter
Collapse

Jerzy Czopik
Jerzy Czopik  Identity Verified
Germany
Member (2003)
Polish to German
+ ...
How are the source and target language organized in the XML? Dec 21, 2010

In fact this is not really your task, as the customer should provide you a clear instruction, but...
What does appear when you open the file in TagEditor with the ini file you created?

Peter Adolph
Peter Adolph
Member (2006)
English to Danish
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
--> --> --> --> <labellanguage ... Dec 21, 2010

This is what I see when opening up the .xml file in TE:

... and so on. I am not able to open up any segments (the value "Antal deltagere" would need to be translated) ... everything inside the '' is placed in a tag.