Thread poster: Nehad Hussein
Nehad Hussein
Nehad Hussein  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 10:41
English to Arabic
Mar 10, 2014

Hello Dear Linguists,

A new client has approached me lately and wish me to use Trados in his work. i am new to the use of CAT tools and still undecided which one to go for. I am thinking either XTM or Trados the freelance edition. In term of cost, they nearly the same. I am worried about which is more effective in features and able to accommodate all my client needs. Can you please give me your advise?

XTM Intl
XTM Intl
United Kingdom
Local time: 10:41
About XTM Mar 11, 2014

Hi Nehad,

There is a significant price difference between XTM Cloud and Trados Studio 2014 Feelance.
Trados Studio costs you €590, and a further €208 later to upgrade (and only for a short period after which the price goes even higher!) making it a big financial commitment, while you can work on XTM Cloud from as little as €11 a month with no obligation so you can spend only as much as you need to without investing a lot of money.
In terms of features it’s all
... See more
Hi Nehad,

There is a significant price difference between XTM Cloud and Trados Studio 2014 Feelance.
Trados Studio costs you €590, and a further €208 later to upgrade (and only for a short period after which the price goes even higher!) making it a big financial commitment, while you can work on XTM Cloud from as little as €11 a month with no obligation so you can spend only as much as you need to without investing a lot of money.