Agency giving out 8 hours long translation "test" first then hold interview for applicants who pass
Thread poster: Binh An
Binh An
Binh An
Vietnam
Local time: 18:11
English to Vietnamese
+ ...
May 29, 2019

I'm new to the translating scene. One of the agencies I've applied to wants me to do 8 hours long translation "test" first then if I do happen to pass then they will hold an interview later.

This is beyond sketchy, I don't even have any speck of hope for it to not be a scam but I'm just putting it up here for now. Will update when I get more details.

[Edited at 2019-05-29 00:08 GMT]

[Edited at 2019-05-29 00:08 GMT]

Adam Warren
Kevin Fulton

Binh An
Binh An
Vietnam
English to Vietnamese
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
update May 29, 2019

They sent me a contract with 2600 words to translate for the first 2 hours oh god.

Binh An
Binh An
Vietnam
English to Vietnamese
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
update 2 May 29, 2019

Got another batch of "test", total up to 10000 words and they said to just translate as much as I can in 6 hours. If this is a real test I still don't even want to work with the place that uses such kind of shoddy practice.

[Edited at 2019-05-29 09:09 GMT]

Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 11:11
Member (2007)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Just forget it! May 29, 2019

A free test shouldn't have more than 300/400 words and you should first agree on rates and payment terms...

Christine Andersen
Morena Calaón
Thomas T. Frost
Ester Vidal
Rachel Waddington
Vera Schoen
Tina Vonhof (X)

Thayenga
Thayenga  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 12:11
Member (2009)
English to German
+ ...
Test translations May 29, 2019

If they're paid for, fine.

If they're not paid for, then it's a definite rip-off. By the time all translators have completed the "free" tests, that agencies has saved thousands of dollars.

Christine Andersen
Morena Calaón
Thomas T. Frost
Tina Vonhof (X)
Min Fang
Binh An
Philip Lees