Logan Morales (X)
Logan Morales (X)  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 05:33
Spanish to English
+ ...
Aug 26, 2020

Hello!

I'm a new translator with no experience in freelancing, and I managed to get my first job. Through a series of emails from my client, the job has become less than ideal after I accepted. Essentially, it's been this:

I am to proofread English translations of Spanish transcripts, which were translated by a Spanish speaking agency. I was hired to make sure it sounded like natural English, and that there were no errors. At first, I was told that I would get $600 a mo
... See more
Hello!

I'm a new translator with no experience in freelancing, and I managed to get my first job. Through a series of emails from my client, the job has become less than ideal after I accepted. Essentially, it's been this:

I am to proofread English translations of Spanish transcripts, which were translated by a Spanish speaking agency. I was hired to make sure it sounded like natural English, and that there were no errors. At first, I was told that I would get $600 a month (USD) for part-time hours. The tasks were dribbling in for the first week, enough that I only had to work max 2 hours a day. At this point, I'm thinking "It's fine, they're still translating the bulk of it. It'll get to me." A temporary time sheet shows that I would get 10 bucks an hour instead. Fine. This was experience too, and I was thrilled to have a job, and the work is fun.